affectionate solidarity

Flowering Fruit Tree

Flowering Fruit Tree – Photo Alia

::

I have known that affectionate solidarity with the people around me and the Universe at large – also the sense of the world’s fundamental All-Rightness, in spite of pain, death, and bereavement.

Aldous Huxley

 

My Comment:

This statement by Aldous Huxley is found in the wonderful biography by his wife, Laura Archera Huxley: This Timeless Moment (p. 312). It sums up the spirit that Huxley came to embody and exemplify throughout his life. The spirit that I experience as the basic attitude of many here in this community that Alia and I live in is akin to this.  It is especially the first element that he mentions: affectionate solidarity – that I see being exercised by a large number of the residents here. Of course each of us has our individual needs and issues that capture our attention during our normal day-to-day. Nonetheless when a need of the community arises there is consistently someone or many who rise to the challenge and help.

In my personal life the second element: (affectionate solidarity) with the Universe at large –  is also deepening more and more. This sense of being embedded in the greater Being that we all are allows me to relax into this community as a container. I am learning to trust that necessary changes will happen and I do not have to be the one individual who ‘makes’ it happen. This allows me more space to relax into the contemplative role I so enjoy and love.

The third element is: the sense of the world’s fundamental All-Rightness, in spite of pain, death, and bereavement. This one is difficult to bring into words and is clearly an understanding that can only stem from one’s own direct experience. Some might call it “the grace of God”, or “the Intrinsic Order”, or “Intelligent Infinity”. I like the term “total functioning” because it expresses for me that deep sense of everything being aspects of this one Being that we all are and that an unseen force is perpetually at work to balance and support itself to become increasingly aware and thus responsible.

At present all elements of Huxley’s statement seem to express how my life is living itself.

Cheers! And Happy Spring!

tomas

::

::

::

 

 

I love your comments - What are your thoughts?

