the power of love

 

::

The quote, “When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace,” seems invariably to be attributed to Jimi Hendrix.

However, William Gladstone once said (prior to Hendrix): “We look forward to the time when the Power of Love will replace the Love of Power. Then will our world know the blessings of peace.” ( William Gladstone 1809-1898)

In addition, at around the same time that Jimi Hendrix said his words, Sri Chinmoy Ghose said, “When the power of love overcomes the love of power, then there will be true peace.”

source

We are living in a time when this transition is happening. Each of us can take these words to heart and practice them in our lives. When do I want to be right in a discussion? That is often one of the faces of the love of power. When do I seek my own advantage to the disadvantage of another? This also may be the same face of the love of power. When do I use the power of the word, which I may underestimate in its effect and repercussions in the Field, to put someone down or discredit them? Is the love of power showing itself there? Oftentimes that is the case. We have become ‘used to’ this kind of behavior on our part and on the part of others. It is time to renew our commitment to being impeccable in thought, word and deed. In this way we will do our part in bringing about the world in which the power of love has overcome the love of power. It is a world that knows true peace.

::

::

related reading: the axis of the cosmos

::

Axis Bold As Love

Jimi Hendrix 1967

ANGER!

He smiles, towering in shiny metallic purple armor.
Green jealousy, envy waits behind every door, her fiery Green gown
snares at the grassy ground.

Blue are the life giving waters, taken for granted,
they quietly understand.

A once happy Turquoise army lay opposite and ready
but wonder why the fight is on.

But they’re are all bold as love
they’re all bold as love
Yeah, they’re all bold as love
Just ask the axis

My Red is so confident, that he flashes tokens of war
and ribbons of euphoria
orange is young and full of daring
but very unsteady for the first go around.

My Yellow in this case is not so mellow in fact I’m trying to say,
it’s frightened like me, and all these emotions of mine
keep tolling me from giving my life to a Rainbow like you,

But I’m A…yeah
I’m Bold as Love, yeah, yeah
Well I’m Bold, Bold as Love
Hear me talking
I’m Bold as love,
Just ask the axis, he knows everything.

Yeah, Yeah, Yeah

::

::

::

 

I love your comments - What are your thoughts?

