delusion and realization

Buddha:

Those who have great realization of delusion are buddhas;

This statement from Genjo Koan says that all we can do is to see what is false and to see where we have been deluded and have deluded ourselves. To begin to fathom the extent to which we have entertained concepts about our existence in place of direct perception of our reality is a key to awakening. Out basic belief about who and what we are is based on a concept which is a thought-form that we have subscribed to.

If we have ever had a flash of intuition or of ‘right seeing’ of Reality with big ‘R’, then we have had a glimpse of ‘what is’ before mental activity kicks in. Since thinking has become second nature we hardly recognize how pervasive this interpretation of our reality is. Each of us will have a unique experience of perception free of mental interpretation, therefore I won’t even attempt to convey what my experience has been and is. I wish merely to implore you to not be satisfied with the conventional view of things. Reality is far, far more than any of our belief-systems express, including the most ‘far-out’ new beliefs of new physics and new metaphysics.

I also live daily according to beliefs: I believe my espresso coffee maker will percolate up the brewed coffee after the heat from the stove is sufficient, that rain will fall down and not up, and so on. Increasingly, however, I am becoming aware that Intelligent Infinity through me wants to see all of existence free of these conceptual blinds.

I posted a short piece on Innocence a few days ago which started with a line from I Ching

hexagram #25        Wu Wang     Innocence:
Innocence is being free of forethought and reflection

Innocence is the logical result of great realization of delusion. Can I be free of all concepts and thus of all delusions? Perhaps not, but it is my North Star that keeps me on the track of creative doubting of all that is presented to me as “the Truth”. I conclude with this passage from Genjo Koan that is one of my favorites. It is a koan, which means it is a tool to free us from delusion if we contemplate it deeply from a place before the intellect:

To study the buddha way is to study the self. To study the self is to forget the self. To forget the self is to be actualized by myriad things. When actualized by myriad things, your body and mind as well as the bodies and minds of others drop away. No trace of realization remains, and this no trace continues endlessly.

source

::

::

::

I love your comments - What are your thoughts?

