contemplation

https://michaelwelchertdotcom.files.wordpress.com/2014/09/contemplation.jpg?w=554&h=554

Ssurrender is not something to practice. For me surrender is what happens when I realize that I, as a person, am actually not in charge anyway. Nisargadatta speaks of ‘total functioning’ which for me is related and perhaps synonymous with David Bohm’s ‘implicate order’. Both concepts point me to there being one Great One, of which we are all expressions.

“Apart, from us where is time and where is space? If we are bodies, we are involved in time and space, but are we? We are one and identical now, then, and forever, here, and everywhere. Therefore we, timeless, and spaceless Being, alone are.” Ramana Maharshi

The difficulty arises when we fall back into the sense of being a separate individual – which is the view upon which the entire structure of thought in our societies is founded. Many views have arisen over the course of human evolution that ask us to ‘surrender’ to something greater. Most of them have been ensconced within religious ideologies that imply surrender to a greater Supreme Being that is apart from and separate from the individual who is asked to surrender. Rarely do we find the perspective that Krishnamurti expresses when he says “I used to be an atheist until I realized that I am God.

Video with Deepak Chopra: J. Krishnamurti statement about being God

Then I sometimes become aware, as I live my life, of this paradox: I move with the appearance of being a separate individual and yet the awareness of being ‘moved by’ the one Great One is also increasingly awake and alive. I find myself surrendering to the inner certainty and ‘knowing’ that the one eternal and infinite One Being is the Subject and that all sense of being the limited ‘local self’ is subordinate to that. A deep sense of Peace arises in such moments.

I am currently reading Thomas Merton, the wonderful Contemplative, who has this to say in his booklet “New Seeds of Contemplation”:

“To enter into the realm of CONTEMPLATION one must in a certain sense die: but this death is in fact the entrance into a higher life.
Hence, CONTEMPLATION is a sudden gift of awareness, an awakening to the Real within all that is real. A vivid awareness of infinite Being at the roots of our own limited being.”

Food for contemplation.

::

::

::

 

I love your comments - What are your thoughts?

