We Stood Together

A beautiful heartfelt tribute to John F. Kennedy!

WHAT A HEART CAN HOLD

Fifty years ago today, I set out just after dark with my mother and two friends to pay our respects to our slain president as he lie in state in the Capitol Rotunda. It was a last minute decision. I had begged my mother to take us. She thought it might be dangerous, but in the end, she knew that we would be witnesses to history. We put on our winter coats and climbed into our Rambler American. As we listened to coverage on the radio during the drive from Wheaton, Maryland into Washington, D.C., we wept.

I don’t remember how my mother found a place to park, but she did. As we walked towards the crowd, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing  – a huge mass of people of all ages. The line was so long that we couldn’t see the front, and after we joined them, it…

View original post 1,233 more words

I love your comments - What are your thoughts?

