Thought going where it doesn’t belong

Thought going where it doesn’t belong… Thinking about things that thinking  was not made for… I think Krishnamurti first made me aware of the fact that thinking is a tool that has its place but in the course of human development thought became perverted. Who was it that said “language is a virus from outer space”? I don’t agree, and it was probably said to make a point, which is that we have lost our sense of the true value of thoughts/language.

This amazing skill is,  for the most part, allowed to run on auto-pilot unconsciously. Sometimes I see thoughts arising in myself and others and I have the impression of swamp gas bubbles surfacing out of the depths, bursting at the surface and releasing their stench.

Sages have said that silence is the perennial language which is interrupted by words. I wouldn’t stop speaking/thinking yet, but I get what they are pointing at. Words/thoughts  that are sourced from that Silence or the Tao are an expression of the essence of life and otherwise are not more than swamp gas bubbles bursting in our faces.

Zen points me to the spontaneity of human expression when one’s mind is not doing a double-take on what is happening. Then there is natural purity of expression, just as it is. The mind does reflect happenings around me and then it moves with those happenings. When human fears enter the equation we want to look at what is being reflected and acted upon – so there is reflection on the reflection, and this ties things up in to a knot.

Life rolls out smoothly and even when turbulent it keeps on rolling out. Then the mind wants to stop the rolling out dynamic of the universe and double-back on itself: life as mind doubling back on life that was a moment ago. But what it then sees is only the shell, the ash of the movement that happened a moment ago. In the bargain this movement twists the whole strip of life that was rolling out so smoothly and tries to get it to stay put so it can look at it and be sure all is ok so that the mind can approve of how things are going.

No wonder that self-confidence is lost in the process. Looking at my nose in the mirror and trying to imagine if that girl will like how it looks has to make me insecure. After all, human bodies are pretty unusual, don’t you agree?

Image

9 thoughts on “Thought going where it doesn’t belong

  1. speaking of silence, there are monks who take lifetime vows of silence. i can’t imagine not speaking for 1 hour much less a lifetime 🙂

      • in my experience that definitely IS the hardest part. i’ve tried with practicing yoga but inevitably, i always say that my mind goes a million miles per minute & i can’t relax. 😦

        • For me the greatest shift happened when i finally realized that thoughts are fine just as they are and to just let them be. When I try to slow them down or stop them i am actually feeding them. It takes some patience but the key in my opinion is to be able to just start watching my thoughts but without interfering with them in any way. This of course means that I can sense somewhere that I am not my thoughts, or that there is a part of me that can just see the thoughts. Then they start to lose their force and dynamic. You might enjoy “The Four Agreements” by don Miguel Ruiz http://www.toltecspirit.com/ Check it out! Happy Travels! tomas ☼

  2. Pingback: Zen: The Mind Ground | heartflow2013

  3. The smoothness of flow within the system allows the creation of what the smell will be :). There can be STUNNING orchids in that same swamp that when in growing in the “right” place, filter and transform that same gas into exquisite perfumed truth. It does take some pruning and practice of knowing of how much and when to feed and water for this to take place.

    For me, it is knowing what the synthetic TV signal broadcasting what “normal” is and then when one is ready, pirating it and expanding it into the organic light of truth. There is a seed of this truth in all things that will germinate into whatever one chooses to focus on when adding their will… and how fast it does grow often depends on how much manure one can handle.

    Here is learning to processing akk effectively and quickly into the nutrients that at the core are always, all ways there. -x.M

    • Basically we contain all within ourselves, so – yes! “There is a seed of this truth in all things that will germinate into whatever one chooses to focus on” – that is the only ‘doing’ actually: where do I put my focus. Also – what happens when I retract my focus completely? Can I and have I done that and what happened then? Thanks for your reflections that lead to more reflections… 😀 tomas ♥

    • Thanks, Lisa! I see also similarities to our own biological system – the less toxins and the more pure and simple nutrition it takes in, the less toxic output there is… 😉 All the thoughts we take in are nutrition for the body-mind as well as solid foods and liquids. Alia and I stopped watching TV for that reason years ago. Cheers! tomas ♥

I love your comments - What are your thoughts?

